Monday 21. May 2018
Our Member Bishops

COMECE, the Commission of the Bishops' Conferences of the European Community, is made up of Bishops delegated by the Catholic Bishops’ Conferences of the 28 Member States of the European Union. A single Bishop represents Denmark, Sweden, and Finland; while the Bishops' Conference of the United Kingdom is represented by a Bishop of the Bishops' Conference of England and Wales, and by a Bishop of the Scottish Bishops' Conference.


COMECE holds two meetings of the Plenary Assembly each year, which set out the main lines of its work. The Apostolic Nuncio to the European Union participates in these meetings. A seminal issue of the European integration process provides the core theme of each meeting.


The COMECE Standing Committee composed of the President, four Vice-Presidents and the General Secretary. Currently its members are Mgr Jean-Claude Hollerich, Archbishop of Luxembourg (President), Mgr Mariano Crociata, First Vice-President, Bishop of Latina (Italy) Mgr Noël Treanor, Bishop of Down & Connor (Ireland), , Mgr Jan Vokal, Bishop of Hradec Králové (Czech Republic), Mgr Franz-Josef Overbeck, Bishop of Essen (Germany) and Br Olivier Poquillon OP, General Secretary.


List of our Member Bishops per country in alphabetical order:


Bishop Franz-Josef Overbeck

Bishop of Essen and Military Bishop



Bishop Jean Kockerols

Auxiliary Bishop of the Archdiocese of Malines-Brussels


Bishop Manuel Nin O.S.B

Apostolic Exarch to the Greek Byzantine Catholic Church


Bishop Czeslaw Kozon
Bishop of Copenhagen (Denmark)

Contact us
19, Square de Meeûs
B-1050 Bruxelles
T + 32(0)2 235 05 10