Saturday 8. August 2020
Our Member Bishops



ROMA 16-03-2010INCONTRO DEL COLLEGIO ASSISTENTI DI A.C. CON GLI ASISTENTI DI ALTRE AGGREGAZIONI LAICALIDA SIN:MONS.DOMENICO SIGALINI,MONS.MARIANO CROCIATA,DOTT.FRANCO MIANOPH:ALESSIO PETRUCCIBorn in Castelvetrano, Province of Trapani, Sicily, Mariano Crociata was ordained as a priest in 1979. He studied philosophy and theology at the Pontifical Gregorian University of Rome, where he was awarded a doctorate in theology in 1984.


He ran the theology of religions department at Palermo's Theological School. From 2003 he was vicar general of the Diocese of Mazara del Vallo.


On 16 July 2007 Pope Benedict XVI appointed him Bishop of Noto. He was consecrated on 6 October 2007. On 26 September 2008 Pope Benedict appointed him secretary general of the Italian Bishops’ Conference (CEI).


He is the bishop of the Diocese of Latina-Terracina-Sezze-Priverno since 19 November 2013. He is the delegate of the Italian Bishops conference to COMECE since 2017.

Italian Bishops' Conference



Bishop Gianni Ambrosio

Bishop of Piacenza-Bobbio (Italy)

Vice-President of COMECE


Bishop Ambrosio was born on 23 December 1943 in Santhià (Italy). He studied theology, first at the Minor and then at the Major Seminar of Vercelli. On 7 July 1968 he was ordained a priest; after having finished his licentiate in social science and religious sociology, a doctorate in theology completed his studies. On 16 February 2008 Gianni Ambrosio was consecrated as bishop for the diocese Piacenza-Bobbio.


Since February 2009 Bishop Ambrosio has been a member of COMECE.


Italian Bishops' Conference


Contact us
19, Square de Meeûs
B-1050 Bruxelles
T + 32(0)2 235 05 10