The Commission of the Bishops’ Conferences of the European Union (COMECE) is composed of the Catholic Bishops’ Conferences of all Member States of the European Union.

The new logo of COMECE.

It was established in 1980 with the approval of the Holy See to represent the EU Bishops’ Conferences before the EU institutions. COMECE carries out a dialogue with the EU institutions, providing contributions that promote common good and a human-centered approach in EU policies. Click here for further details on the history and the mission of COMECE.

COMECE regularly collaborates with the Apostolic Nunciature to the European Union and with the Vatican Secretariat of State.

The Secretariat of COMECE is located in Brussels, where a team of advisers monitor, analyse and develop positions presenting the Catholic perspective on EU policies. The main dossiers of EU competence on which COMECE is working are the following:

Justice and Fundamental Rights
Social and Economic Affairs
EU External Affairs
International Freedom of Religion
Migration and Asylum
Ecology, Energy & Agriculture
Ethics, Research and Health
Culture & Education
Youth Policies

The structure of COMECE includes the Assembly, the Standing Committee, the Secretariat, six Commissions (Legal Affairs, Social Affairs, External Affairs, Migration & Asylum, Ethics, Culture & Education) and the Press Office.

The current President is H.E. Mgr. Mariano Crociata, Bishop of Latina.
The current General Secretary is Fr. Manuel Enrique Barrios Prieto.

The COMECE profile on the EU Transparency Register is available here.

The COMECE Statute is available in Italian and English.